Lawyers e-Journal

Thursday, Apr. 7, 2011
Image for Conference
Supreme Judicial Court Clerk for Suffolk County Maura S. Doyle

Supreme Judicial Court Clerk for Suffolk County Maura S. Doyle to receive MBA Public Service award at "Hail to the Chiefs" bench-bar panel on May 18

Supreme Judicial Court Clerk for Suffolk County Maura S. Doyle will receive an MBA Public Service award as part of the MBA's Centennial Conference's "Hail to the Chiefs" bench-bar panel and reception on Wednesday, May 18. Doyle is the first woman to hold the position of SJC Clerk for Suffolk County since the position's inception in 1692 and the first woman to hold a Suffolk County-wide elected office.

A Suffolk University Law School graduate, Doyle is responsible for managing the Supreme Judicial Court's single justice caseload, appeals from state registration boards and agencies, all matters concerning the admission of attorneys to the Massachusetts bar and attorney discipline.

Click here to register for the MBA's Centennial Conference. MBA members will receive a conference mailer with program details next week.

The "Hail to the Chiefs" bench-bar panel and reception will wrap-up the first day of MBA Centennial Conference programming. The panel discussion will take place from 4:30 to 6 p.m. Panelists include (from left to right):

Hail to the Chiefs with Wolf

  • Associate Justice Ralph D. Gants (pictured, right), Supreme Judicial Court, moderator; Gants
  • Chief Justice Paula M. Carey, Probate and Family Court;
  • Chief Justice Lynda M. Connolly, District Court;
  • Chief Justice Michael F. Edgerton, Juvenile Court;
  • Chief Justice Charles R. Johnson, Boston Municipal Court;
  • Chief Justice for Administration and Management Robert A. Mulligan;
  • Chief Justice Steven D. Pierce, Housing Court;
  • Chief Justice Phillip Rapoza, Appeals Courts;
  • Chief Justice Barbara J. Rouse, Superior Court;
  • Chief Justice Karyn F. Scheier, Land Court; and
  • Hon. Mark L. Wolf, Chief Judge, U.S. District Court.

The MBA's Centennial Conference will also feature three concurrent CLE tracks, the annual Access to Justice Awards Luncheon on May 18, and the Centennial Ball on May 19. The ball will feature a keynote address from Supreme Court Associate Justice Stephen G. Breyer and a special MBA Hennessey Award presentation to retiring U.S. District Court Judge Nancy Gertner. The MBA will also honor Foley Hoag's Michael B. Keating with its Gold Medal Award and Mintz Levin's Richard G. Mintz with a Centennial Award.

©2017 Massachusetts Bar Association