Lawyers e-Journal

Thursday, May. 5, 2011
Image for Awards
Top, from left to right: MBA President Denise Squillante, MBA Community Service Awardee Susan Jacobs, Bristol County Bar Association President Nancy C. Stanton, MBA President-Elect Richard P. Campbell. Photo courtesy of the Bristol County Bar Association.

Bottom, from left to right: Richard C. Van Nostrand accepts his MBA Community Service Award from MBA President Denise Squillante. Photo courtesy of Finnegan Photographers.

Jacobs and Van Nostrand receive MBA Community Service Awards

Attorneys Susan Jacobs and Richard C. Van Nostrand have recently received MBA Community Service Awards. MBA President Denise Squillante awarded Jacobs at the Bristol County Bar Association Annual Dinner on April 28 and presented Van Nostrand with the award at the Worcester County Bar Association Law Day Breakfast on April 29.

The MBA Community Service Award is given to attorneys who have made important public service contributions to their communities and to publicize the fact that members of the legal profession are caring, involved individuals, eager to use their legal skills for the betterment of society.

Honorees' achievements include:

  • Jacobs, an attorney at Volterra, Goldberg & Jacobs in Attleboro, has been active in the MBA for years. In addition, Jacobs served as the 2008-09 president of the Bristol County Bar Association and on its Board of Directors from 2004 to 2010. Also active in several other legal groups, Jacobs served as president of the Attleboro Area Bar Association from 2003 to 2004.

  • Van Nostrand, a partner at Mirick O'Connell in Worcester, has been active in the MBA for over 30 years. An MBA Past President from 2003 to 2004, Van Nostrand is currently a member of the MBA's Centennial Commission and serves as its fund-raising co-chair. Also a long-time member and leader within the Worcester County Bar Association, Van Nostrand served as association president from 1995 to 1996 and sat on the executive committee from 1991 to 1997. Van Nostrand has been honored with the WCBA President's Award three times.


©2017 Massachusetts Bar Association