Lawyers e-Journal

Thursday, May. 26, 2011
Image for Access to Justice
Top: Access to Justice Luncheon Keynote Speaker Lt. Gov. Timothy P. Murray accepts an MBA Centennial Awards from MBA President Denise Squillante.

From left to right:
Access to Justice Section Council member Michael D. Badger presents a Legal Services Award to Linda L. Landry.

Access to Justice Section Council member Miriam H. Babin presents a Legal Services Award to Daniel S. Manning.

Access to Justice Section Council member Marilyn Ray Smith presents the Pro Bono Award for Law Firms to Howard Friedman.

Access to Justice Section Council member Jacquelynne J. Bowman presents the MBA Pro Bono Publico Award to Eleanor J. Newhoff.

2010 MBA Defender Award recipient Beth L. Eisenberg honors this year's recipient Radha Natarajan.

MBA Criminal Justice Section Chair Michael L. Fabbri presents the Prosecutor Award to Katharine B. Folger.

Photos by Jeff Thiebauth.

MBA honors leaders in public service, legal aid, at Access to Justice Awards Luncheon

Lt. Gov. Timothy P. Murray delivers keynote, presents MBA with governor’s citation in recognition of the MBA’s 100th anniversary

The Massachusetts Bar Association honored five attorneys and one law firm at the Access to Justice Awards Luncheon on May 18 at the Boston Sheraton Hotel for their efforts in providing exemplary legal services to the public. The luncheon was held on the first day of the Centennial Conference.

"It is the dedication of today's honorees to the public, the profession and the rule of law that exemplifies the MBA's founding principles and rich tradition of service," MBA President Denise Squillante said.

Lt. Gov. Timothy P. Murray delivered the keynote address and was honored with an MBA Centennial Award, which has been and will continue to be bestowed across the state throughout the MBA's 100th anniversary commemoration.

"Access to justice must be universal," said Murray, who spoke out in favor of keeping the state's current judicial vetting system. "Our judicial system touches everyone in our commonwealth."

Murray congratulated the MBA on its anniversary and presented Squillante with a citation from Gov. Deval Patrick recognizing the association's 100 years of service.

MBA 2011 Access to Justice Award honorees included:

  • Legal Services Award
    Linda L. Landry, Esq., Disability Law Center, Boston
    Daniel S. Manning, Esq., Greater Boston Legal Services, Boston
  • Pro Bono Award for Law Firms
    Law Offices of Howard Friedman, Boston
  • Pro Bono Publico Award
    Eleanor J. Newhoff, Esq., Attorney at Law, Cambridge
  • Defender Award
    Radha Natarajan, Esq., Committee for Public Counsel Services, Somerville
  • Prosecutor Award
    Katharine B. Folger, Esq., Middlesex District Attorney's Office, Woburn

Click here to view photos from the May 18 Access to Justice Awards Luncheon.

Look in the June issue of Lawyers Journal for full coverage of the commemorative events.

©2017 Massachusetts Bar Association