Lawyers e-Journal

Thursday, Feb. 2, 2012

Campbell appoints 2012 Nominating Committee

MBA President Richard P. Campbell has announced the members of the 2012 MBA Nominating Committee. The committee is charged with reviewing the nominations submitted for consideration for MBA officer positions for the 2012-2013 association year to begin Sept. 1, 2012.

Nominations for 2012-13 officer/delegate positions are due to MBA Secretary Robert W. Harnais by 5 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 24. Click here for more information.

Denise Squillante, chair

SquillanteDenise Squillante is the MBA immediate past president and a family law and corporate law practitioner in Fall River. Long active in the MBA's Family Law Section and its associated committees, she has lent her energy to the MBA's Presidential Task Force on Terrorism, and the Amicus and the Joint Bar committees. A former recipient of the MBA's Pro Bono Publico Award, Squillante is a longtime member of the House of Delegates and a Massachusetts Bar Foundation fellow. A Massachusetts delegate to the American Bar Association's House of Delegates and co-chair of the joint MBA/Boston Bar Association Alimony Task Force, Squillante was also appointed to a legislative task force charged with studying the issue of alimony in Massachusetts in 2010. Squillante is also a former president of the Fall River Bar Association and New England Bar Association. In 2010, she was awarded the John S. Brayton Jr. Memorial Community Service Award by the Fall River Chamber of Commerce.

Valerie A. Yarashus

Valerie A. YarashusValerie A. Yarashus is an MBA past president and a principal with Meehan, Boyle, Black and Bogdanow PC, where she concentrates in plaintiff's trial practice and a wide variety of other general liability cases. Yarashus co-founded the MBA Monthly Leadership Roundtables, spearheaded the MBA Diversity Task Force from 2005 to 2007 and is a past president of the Massachusetts Academy of Trial Attorneys. Awarded the prestigious Wiedemann-Wysocki "Citation of Excellence" from the American Association for Justice for her commitment to the civil justice system, Yarashus has also been named one of Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly's Hall of Fame for Up and Coming Lawyers.

Edward W. McIntyre

McIntyreEdward W. McIntyre is an MBA past president and a solo practitioner in Clinton. A civil litigator in state and federal court, he concentrates his practice in the areas of spinal cord and brain injury law. McIntyre, a U.S. Army veteran, has been a member of the House of Delegates since 1998, sat on the MBA President's Task Force on Judicial Evaluations and the MBA's ABA Nominating Committee. He also fulfilled one-year appointments as vice-chair and chair of the MBA's Judicial Administration Section Council. Chair of MBA's Judicial Performance Evaluation Standing Committee since 2004, McIntyre is a former recipient of the MBA's Community Service Award and is a Massachusetts Bar Foundation fellow and trustee.

Thomas J. Barbar

Tom BarbarThomas J. Barbar, the chair of the MBA's Law Practice Management section and a past co-chair of the MBA Family Law section council, is a principal with the family law department at Deutsch Williams, Brooks, DeRensis & Holland PC in Boston, where he concentrates in the fields of probate and domestic relations. Before joining his current firm, Barbar was a solo practitioner in West Roxbury, where he grew up. Barbar has testified at the Statehouse on behalf of the MBA regarding family law legislation. He has also been a panel participant and chair for probate and family law issues for the Boston Bar Association and the MBA.

Laurence M. Johnson

JohnsonLaurence M. Johnson is a shareholder at Davis, Malm & D'Agostine PC in Boston, where he practices in the area of trials and appeals of complex business litigation. A past co-chair of the MBA's Individual Rights & Responsibilities Section, Johnson has been a member of the MBA's House of Delegates since 2008. A past president of the Massachusetts Bar Foundation, Johnson is also a trustee and an MBF Oliver Wendell Holmes life fellow. A member of both the Massachusetts IOLTA Committee and Supreme Judicial Court Law Clerks' Society, Johnson has served as director of the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law for more than 30 years. In addition to being a long-time member of the MBA, he is a member of the Boston Bar Association and American Bar Association as well as a life member of the American Law Institute and an elected fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

Nancy Frankel Pelletier

PelletierNancy Frankel Pelletier is an attorney with Robinson Donovan PC in Springfield. Recognized as one of Massachusetts Super Lawyers "Top 50 Women Attorneys" in 2009, Pelletier focuses her practice in litigation. A member of the Massachusetts, Hampden County, women's and federal  bar associations, Pelletier is also a fellow in the International Association of Defense Counsel and a life fellow of the Massachusetts Bar Foundation. She has also volunteered as a judge in the MBA's Mock Trial program.

Michelle I. Schaffer

SchafferMichelle I. Schaffer is a shareholder at Campbell, Campbell, Edwards & Conroy PC, where she focuses her practice on civil litigation, particularly the defense of complex products liability, toxic tort and premises liability matters. Actively involved in the Federal Bar Association and in the Defense Research Institute, Schaffer has published many articles and has spoken at educational programs on topics relating to her substantive areas of practice, discovery techniques and trial practice in general. She has served as the chair of several educational programs sponsored by professional organizations, including the American Bar Association, DRI and Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education Inc.



©2017 Massachusetts Bar Association