Nineteen attorneys selected for MBA's 2017-18 Leadership Academy class

Thursday, Sep. 7, 2017
Article Picture

The Massachusetts Bar Association has chosen 19 attorneys as Academy Fellows for the 2017-18 class of the MBA's Leadership Academy, a program for attorneys with three-10 years of experience that is designed to recruit and nurture future bar and civic leaders. (The Leadership Academy also includes the 2017 recipient of the MBA's Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship.) The fellows, who were selected after a competitive application process, represent a diverse group of talented young attorneys from across the commonwealth.

The MBA's Leadership Academy is a 12-month program that runs concurrently with the MBA membership year, starting in September. Fellows are provided the opportunity to network, collaborate and build relationships with bar leaders; develop and enhance leadership skills important to their future in the legal profession; and get an insider's look at the important role the MBA plays within the legal system.

Here are the 2017-18 MBA Leadership Academy Fellows:

  • Jason E. Armiger, Gesmer Updegrove LLP, Boston
  • Katherine A. Bagdis, Mountain Dearborn LLP, Worcester
  • Shara M. Benedetti, Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure, Boston
  • Barry James Bisson, Law Office of Barry J. Bisson, Boston
  • Gary M. Bloom, Law Office of Gary Bloom, Boston
  • Robert F. Callahan Jr., Robins Kaplan LLP, Boston
  • Vincent N. DePalo, Governo Law Firm, Boston
  • Jonathan R. Eaton, Turco Legal PC, Newburyport
  • Andrew Giarolo, Berkshire District Attorney's Office, Pittsfield
  • Jared L. Hubbard, Hubb Legal PC, Newburyport
  • Travis J. Jacobs, The Jacobs Law LLC, Boston
  • Maren L. Law, Maren L. Law, Attorney at Law, Northampton
  • Sean M. McKendry, City of Cambridge Law Department, Cambridge
  • Anthony H. Melia, Office of District Attorney Joseph D. Early Jr., Middle District, Worcester
  • Shayla Mombeleur (2017 Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship), Committee for Public Counsel Services, Boston
  • Rita M. Ryan, Vacovec, Mayotte & Singer LLP, Newton
  • Amanda J. Shuman, DangerLaw LLC, Newton
  • Stephen A. Smith, Law Office of Stephen A. Smith, Millis
  • Tinia Snow, Committee for Public Counsel Services, Roxbury