Twenty attorneys graduate from MBA Leadership Academy

Thursday, April 18, 2024
Article Picture
Photo Credit: Jeff Thiebauth
Top: MBA President Damian J. Turco speaks during the 2024 MBA Leadership Academy Graduation.

Second from top: Hon. Elizabeth N. Dewar, associate justice of Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court, gives the keynote address

Bottom: Members of the MBA's 2023-24 Leadership Academy class.

The Massachusetts Bar Association held a graduation ceremony for the 2023-24 class of the MBA Leadership Academy on Monday, April 8, at the John Adams Courthouse in Boston. The 20 graduating Fellows completed nearly six months of educational programming, with sessions focused on the future of law, crisis communication, the importance of maintaining civility in litigation and promoting diversity in the workplace, and strategies for success in the courtroom.

The MBA established a Leadership Academy in the 2016-17 association year to address the lack of developmental opportunities in the legal profession and to prepare young attorneys to assume leadership roles at the bar, in their firms and organizations, and in government. Individuals selected for the program commit to active participation in all Leadership Academy activities, which are designed with the input of MBA officers and staff.

MBA President Damian J. Turco served as emcee of this year's ceremony, where he was joined by MBA Treasurer Samuel A. Segal, MBA Secretary Shayla Mombeleur, and MBA Chief Legal Counsel and Chief Operating Officer Martin W. Healy. The event also featured a keynote address by Hon. Elizabeth N. Dewar, associate justice of Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court. Following the presentation of diplomas, the graduation concluded with a networking reception.

Thank you to all our 2023-24 Leadership Academy Fellows for participating! We look forward to seeing our newly graduated Fellows in leadership roles around the MBA.
Questions about the Leadership Academy? Email

2023-24 Graduating Leadership Academy Fellows:

  • Akosua Agyepong
  • Devan Braun
  • Ariadna Caulfield
  • Katherine Connolly
  • Matthew Costello
  • Stephanie Curtin
  • Joseph Duquette
  • Michael Filbin
  • Emmanuel Gonzalez
  • Katherine Hains

  • Kathleen Kearney-Berney
  • Mitchell Perne
  • Ivo Pierotich
  • Sydney Powers
  • Andreia Ribas Precoma
  • Clare Prober
  • Herling Romero
  • Jason Savageau
  • Melina Muñoz Turco
  • Karolina Weagle