Lawyers Journal

'Excellence in the Law' honors Globe's Ellement, profession's best

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly and the Massachusetts Bar Association once again came together to present the Excellence in the Law event to celebrate achievements and distinctions in the legal profession. The evening event was held at the Boston Marriott Copley Place on May 20.

Following a cocktail reception, a ceremony featured the presentations of the Excellence in Legal Journalism, Diversity Heroes and Up & Coming Lawyer awards. There was also a special presentation of the "Lawscars." Upon arrival, the 300 guests had the option to walk the "red carpet" and be photographed with an oversized "Lawscar" trophy. This was the second year that the "Lawscars" were part of the annual event.

MBA President Valerie A. Yarashus presented The Boston Globe's John Richardson Ellement with the association's Excellence in Legal Journalism Award.

"The MBA and Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly have the unique opportunity each year to recognize a member of the media of his or her contributions in presenting important law-related topics to readers or listeners," said Yarashus. "Richardson Ellement has covered thousands of arraignments and hundreds of trials and has developed a keen knowledge of the Massachusetts legal system."

Richardson Ellement has been covering legal issues and breaking news for the Globe since 1986. He has covered the Boston police, ran the Globe's Suffolk County Court Bureau and more recently served as reporter/editor for the Globe's Web site,

Other award recipients included:

Lawyers Weekly's Diversity Heroes

  • Joyce London Alexander, U.S. magistrate judge (ret.)
  • Roberto M. Braceras, partner, Goodwin, Procter, Boston
  • Taruna Garg, associate, Murtha Cullina, Boston
  • Sabita Singh, District Court circuit judge

Lawyers Weekly's Up & Coming Lawyers

  • William J. Barabino
  • Sarah R. Boonin
  • Thomas A. Brown
  • Colby Bruno
  • Kathleen M. Celio
  • Juan A. Concepcion
  • Scott J. Connolly
  • Eliza Z. Cox
  • Patience W. Crozier
  • Melissa Nott Davis
  • Justin H. Dion
  • Timothy V. Dooling
  • Nicole Murati Ferrer
  • James C. Kennedy
  • Joshua A. Lewin
  • Christopher B. Marston
  • Sejal H. Patel
  • Mark C. Rogers
  • Jolie M. Siegel
  • Lefteris K. Travayiakis.

"Lawscar" recipients

  • Court Officer of the Year:
    Jesse Walker of the New Bedford Probate & Family Court
  • Court Clerk of the Year:
    Jennifer Maggiacomo of the Middlesex Probate & Family Court
  • Law Professor of the Year:
    Mark Pettit of Boston University School of Law
  • Law Firm of the Year:
    Greenberg Traurig
  • Senior Lawyer of the Year:
    Ronald Resmini of the Law Office of Ronald Resmini
  • Best Dressed Lawyer of the Year:
    Andrew C. Meyer Jr. of Lubin & Meyer

Co-sponsors of the May 20 event included the Middlesex County Sheriff's Department, First Republic Bank, Thomson/West and Morse Barnes-Brown & Pendleton. A portion of the event's proceeds went to the Massachusetts Bar Institute Public Services Fund.

©2017 Massachusetts Bar Association