Twenty-one attorneys selected for MBA's inaugural Leadership Academy class

Thursday, Sep. 22, 2016
Article Picture

The Massachusetts Bar Association has chosen 21 attorneys as Academy Fellows for the inaugural class of the MBA's Leadership Academy, a program for attorneys with three-10 years of experience that is designed to recruit and nurture future bar and civic leaders. (The Leadership Academy also includes the 2016 recipient of the MBA's Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship.) The 2016-17 Academy Fellows, who were selected after a competitive application process, represent a diverse group of talented young attorneys from across the commonwealth.

The MBA's Leadership Academy is a 12-month program that runs concurrently with the MBA membership year, starting in September. The 2016-17 Academy Fellows will be provided the opportunity to network, collaborate and build relationships with bar leaders; develop and enhance leadership skills important to their future in the legal profession; and get an insider's look at the important role the MBA plays within the legal system.

"We seek to develop intelligent leaders with integrity, who can navigate the complexities of our world by building coalitions and forging hybrid solutions, and who can inspire and motivate others," said MBA President Jeffrey N. Catalano, who co-chairs the Leadership Academy, along with MBA Treasurer Christopher A. Kenney. "Our lofty goal is to make Massachusetts the state where corps of great future leaders are created."

Here are the 2016-17 MBA Leadership Academy Fellows:

  • Jesse Adams, Law Office of Jesse Adams (Leeds)
  • Adrian Angus, Committee for Public Counsel Services (Worcester)
  • Saraa Basaria, Gordon & Rees LLP (Boston)
  • Ida R. Candreva, Law Office of R. Carabetta (Revere)
  • Melissa Conner, Conner Law Offices (Charlestown)
  • Emmanuel Dockter, Baum & Dockter (Quincy)
  • Talia Gee, Sullivan, Hayes & Quinn (Springfield)
  • Katherine Guarino, Locke Lord, LLP    (Boston)
  • Sara Horatius, Roxbury Community College (Boston)
  • Jane A. Horne, Peabody & Arnold LLP (Boston)
  • Sakib Khan, Kenney & Sams PC (Southborough)
  • Brigid Mitchell, Law Office of Denise Squillante (Fall River)
  • Marc Moccia, Kazarosian Costello LLP (Haverhill)
  • Michael Molloy, Marcotte Law Firm (Lowell)
  • Michael Rossi, Conn Kavanaugh Rosenthal Peisch Ford LLP (Boston)
  • Victoria Santoro, Meehan, Boyle, Black & Bogdanow (Boston)
  • Lauren N. Schaal, Scholarship Winner, 2016 Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship (Brighton)
  • Samuel A. Segal, Law Offices of Samuel A. Segal (Boston)
  • Courtney Shea, Peabody & Arnold LLP (Boston)
  • Meghan Slack, Law Office of Meghan Slack (Cambridge)
  • Damian Turco, Turco Legal PC (Newburyport)