Twenty-two attorneys selected for MBA's 2019-20 Leadership Academy class

Thursday, Sept. 12, 2019
Article Picture

The Massachusetts Bar Association has chosen 22 attorneys as Academy Fellows for the 2019-20 class of the MBA's Leadership Academy, a program for attorneys with three-10 years of experience that is designed to recruit and nurture future bar and civic leaders. (The Leadership Academy also includes the 2019 recipient of the MBA's Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship.) The fellows, who were selected after an intensive application process, represent a diverse group of talented young attorneys from across the commonwealth.

The MBA's Leadership Academy is a 12-month program that runs concurrently with the MBA membership year, starting in September. Fellows are provided the opportunity to network, collaborate and build relationships with bar leaders; develop and enhance leadership skills important to their future in the legal profession; and get an insider's look at the important role the MBA plays within the legal system.

Here are the 2019-20 MBA Leadership Academy Fellows:

  • Carolina Almonte, Office of the Attorney General, Civil Rights Division

  • Paige Barton, Worcester County District Attorney's Office

  • Erica Bruno, The Law Offices of Joseph D. Bernard

  • Michelle Byers, Wilson Elser

  • Nicole Cocozza, Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott LLC

  • Ashley Freeman, Massachusetts Teachers' Retirement System

  • Annika Harwe, Turco Legal PC

  • Lianne Henderson, Committee for Public Counsel Services - Children and Family Law Division

  • Shannon Jurgens, Kenney & Sams PC

  • Lisa Ann Landry, Vacovec, Mayotte & Singer LLP

  • Terrance Lanier, Fitch Law Partners LLP

  • Kara Leary, Lawson & Weitzen LLP

  • Michael Lonzana, MLL Law LLC

  • Jessica McArdle, Committee for Public Counsel Services

  • Michael Moloney, Fall River Housing Authority

  • Francis "Frank"  Mulé, Mendel & Associates LLC

  • Janet Raheb, Worcester County District Attorney's Office

  • Anna Shaddae Rodriguez, 2019 MBA Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship recipient

  • Jennifer Salerno, Barach Law Group LLC

  • Christopher Sweeney, Conn Kavanaugh Rosenthal Peisch & Ford LLP

  • Katherine Tarpley, Children's Law Center of Massachusetts

  • Joseph Webber, Northwestern District Attorney's Office