Tickets available for MBA Access to Justice Awards Celebration on June 15

Thursday, May 5, 2022
Article Picture

Join us on Wednesday, June 15, at the Sheraton in Framingham for the Massachusetts Bar Association’s Access to Justice Awards Celebration.

This year's keynote speaker is the Honorable Joseph P. Kennedy III. Kennedy has dedicated his career to social and economic justice, fighting for the basic needs of every American family and a political system that is inclusive, representative, and fair. The U.S. Representative for Massachusetts’s 4th congressional district from 2013-2021, he ran for office to tackle the systemic inequities – from health care and housing to climate and education – that have left countless American families locked out and left behind. A former Peace Corps member, legal aid volunteer, and assistant district attorney, he has worked tirelessly for the people most at risk, most marginalized, and most in need.

Read the full bio and find event information at

Click here to purchase tickets for the event.

Join us as we honor the following Access to Justice awardees, who will be recognized for their exemplary legal skills and service to the community.

A to J Collage

Top row, from left:

Legal Services Award
Sarah Levy, Greater Boston Legal Services, Boston

Stephen Matthews, MetroWest Legal Services, Framingham

Rising Star Award
Hannah Tanabe, Greater Boston Legal Services, Boston

Pro Bono Publico Award
Martin R. Rosenthal, Law Offices of Martin R. Rosenthal, Boston

Pro Bono Award For Law Firms
Peabody & Arnold, Boston

Bottom row, from left:

Prosecutor Award
Becky Michaels, Northwestern District Attorney, Northampton

Defender Award
Adrian Angus, Committee for Public Counsel Services, Worcester

Race, Equity And Inclusion Award
Freitas & Freitas LLP (Cristina Freitas and Debbie Freitas), Lowell

Lifetime Achievement Award
Jayne Tyrrell, Massachusetts IOLTA Committee (ret.), Boston

Christopher Kauders (posthumous)

Registration is required by 5 p.m. on Wednesday, June 8. Questions? Email Membership and Marketing Manager Heather Robertson at