Hon. Angela M. Ordoñez to receive MBA President's Award

Thursday, March 28, 2024
Article Picture
Hon. Angela M. Ordoñez

The Massachusetts Bar Association will present the MBA President's Award to Hon. Angela M. Ordoñez of the Barnstable Probate and Family Court at the MBA Annual Dinner on Thursday, May 2, at the Westin Boston Seaport District, 425 Summer St., Boston. The President's Award is bestowed upon those individuals who have made a significant contribution to the work of the MBA, to the preservation of MBA values, to the success of MBA initiatives, and to the promotion of the MBA leadership role within the legal community of Massachusetts.

Ordoñez has been a judge since 2000, when she was initially appointed by Gov. Paul Cellucci as an associate justice of the Nantucket Probate and Family Court. In 2008, Gov. Deval Patrick appointed Ordoñez as an associate justice of the Norfolk Probate and Family Court. Ordoñez served as first justice in Nantucket and Norfolk divisions. Prior to joining the Barnstable Probate and Family Court, she served from 2013-2018 as chief justice of the Probate and Family Court Department. 

Ordoñez initiated and implemented, and is co-chair of, the MBA Tiered Community Mentoring Program, which began in 2008. The mentoring program matches attorneys with law students, college students and high school students. The TCM Program has been honored on two occasions by the American Bar Association: the 2011 ABA Partnership Award and the 2019 Embracing Diversity Challenge.

“As the founder of the Tiered Community Mentoring Program, Judge Ordoñez has played a critical role in demystifying and opening pathways to legal career opportunities for countless students from diverse communities around the commonwealth,” said MBA President Damian J. Turco. “In creating and advancing this innovative program for the benefit of aspiring attorneys, she has embodied the spirit of public service that is central to the mission of the MBA.”

Ordoñez has served on numerous committees, including the Supreme Judicial Court’s Access to Justice Commission and Committee on Judicial Performance Evaluation; and the Trial Court’s Strategic Leadership Team, Committee for Administration of Interpreters, Public Outreach Committee, and Transgender Training Development. As chief justice of the Probate and Family Court, she initiated and launched the Fiduciary Litigation Session, Family Court Answer Center, and Child-Focused Facilitation Team. Ordoñez is currently the co-chair of the Committee for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging in the Probate and Family Court.

Ordoñez is a graduate of Northeastern University School of Law.

The MBA Annual Dinner will also the presentation of the Legislator of the Year Award and the Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship, with more awards to be announced soon. Sean K. Ellis, director of the Exoneree Network of the New England Innocence Project, will deliver the keynote address.

Purchase individual tickets

Purchase a table

Register as a sponsor

To join our list of sponsors, select one of the options below using the Annual Dinner sponsorship form.

Champions Of Justice — $10,000

  • Up to two tables for 10
  • Full-page ad in dinner program
  • Firm name/logo projected at the dinner
  • Sponsorship-level recognition in Lawyers eJournal and displayed on MBA website
  • Additional prominent recognition at the dinner

Gold Sponsor — $5,000

  • Table for 10
  • Full-page advertisement in program
  • Logo/firm name projected at event and featured on MBA website
  • Additional prominent recognition at the event

Silver Sponsor — $2,5000

    • Table for 8
    • Half-page advertisement in program
    • Logo/firm name projected at event and featured on MBA website

    Bronze Sponsor — $1,750

    • Table for 8
    • Logo/firm name projected at event
    • Firm name included in program

    Thank you to our current sponsors:

    Champions of Justice:

    MBA Insurance Agency


    CNA Insurance
    Kenney & Sams PC
    Meehan, Boyle, Black & Bogdanow PC
    Morrison Mahoney LLP
    Nifty Marketing
    Peabody & Arnold LLP
    Rubin & Rudman LLP 
    Turco Legal


    Arrowood LLP 
    Breakstone, White & Gluck PC
    Conn Kavanaugh Rosenthal Peisch & Ford LLP
    Diller Law
    Eden Rafferty
    FAZ Forensics
    Freeman Mathis & Gary LLP
    Hirsch Roberts Weinstein LLP
    Kazarosian Costello LLP
    Keches Law Group PC
    Massachusetts Bar Foundation
    McGrath & Kane
    Milne Law PC
    Ringler Associates
    Robins Kaplan LLP
    Sheff & Cook LLC
    Todd & Weld 
    UMass Law 


    Board of Bar Overseers
    Boston University School of Law
    Brick, Jones, McBrien & Hickey LLP
    Bristol County Bar Association
    Cetrulo LLP
    Denise Squillante PC
    Esdaile, Barrett, Jacobs & Mone
    Floyd Advisory
    Goulston & Storrs 
    Kaplan/Bond Group 
    Law Offices of Samuel A. Segal
    Superior Court Clerks Association

    Registration for this event is due by Friday, April 26, at noon.

    Questions regarding this event can be directed to MBA Membership and Marketing Manager Heather Robertson by email at To register over the phone, please call (617) 338-0561.