O'Donnell nominated president-elect

Issue April 2003

Kathleen M. O'Donnell, a longtime MBA member and officer who is associated with the Marcotte Law Office in Lowell, has been nominated as Massachusetts Bar Association president-elect for the 2003-2004 association year. She will become president in September 2004.

O'Donnell, who lives in Lowell, currently serves as MBA vice-president.

An expert in auto insurance, O'Donnell concentrates her practice primarily in civil work with occasional forays into workers' compensation, criminal, probate and domestic law.

A former president of the Massachusetts Academy of Trial Attorneys, O'Donnell has served on many MBA committees and sections, including the Presidential Task Force on the Preservation of Rights, Liberties and Access to Justice, the Budget and Finance Committee (former chair) and the Civil Litigation Section (former chair).

She also has worked closely with the Association of Trial Lawyers during the last decade having served for several years as the chair of the State Affairs Committee and having represented ATLA throughout the county in legislative and policy debates on insurance issues.

O'Donnell's nomination was announced March 7 by the MBA Nominating Committee chair, former MBA president Carol A. G. DiMento. The committee released its slate of proposed officers for 2003-2004, which includes: vice-presidents - Warren F. Fitzgerald of Meehan, Boyle, Black & Fitzgerald, Boston, and John G. Dugan of Dugan & Cannon, Medfield; Treasurer - Mark D. Mason of Cooley, Shrair, PC, Springfield; Secretary - Jeffrey B. Loeb of MacLean Holloway Doherty Ardiff & Morse, PC, Danvers.

Richard C. Van Nostrand of Worcester, the current president-elect, automatically becomes president on Sept. 1, 2003.

Van Nostrand is a partner in the Worcester firm of Mirick, O'Connell, DeMallie & Lougee, where he concentrates on business and employment litigation. He is co-chair of the MBA's 2003 Court Study Task Force and also chairs its Policy and Governance Committee.

Van Nostrand is the former chair and serves on the Joint Bar Committee on Judicial Appointments. He also served as chair of the CLE Committee. He is or has served as a member of the Executive Management Board, House of Delegates, Presidential Task Force on the Preservation of Rights, Liberties and Access to Justice, Budget and Finance Committee, Strategic Planning Committee and Judicial Evaluation Committee.

Van Nostrand also serves as an MBA appointee on both the Board of Trustees of MCLE, Inc., and the Board of Trustees of the Massachusetts Legal Assistance Corporation.

He lives in Northboro with his wife, Debby, and their two daughters, Emily and Kelsey.

MBA members may submit other nominations for any of these officer positions and for delegate positions. The signatures of 100 MBA members must accompany officer nominations. Delegate nominations require signatures of 50 members of the nominees' regions. Nomination petitions must be filed with the association no later than April 10.

Regional Delegates Nominees for 2003-2004

Barnstable/Dukes/Nantucket (Region 1)
Susan A. Huettner

Plymouth County (Region 2)
Joan McDonough

Bristol County (Region 3)
Denise Squillante

Berkshire/Franklin/Hampshire (Region 4)
Veronica J. Fenton

Hampden County (Region 5)
Keith A. Minoff

Essex County (Region 6)
Cynthia Sullivan

Linda T. Lowe

Middlesex County (Region 7)
Lee J. Gartenberg

Steven L. Hoffman

Robert F. Lucas

Norfolk County (Region 8)
Katherine A. Hesse

John E. DeVito

Suffolk County (Region 9)
Peter T. Elikann

David W. White-Lief

Elda S. James

Albert P. Zabin

Worcester County (Region 10)
Edward W. McIntyre

James T. Van Buren