Citizens Against Death Penalty to hold annual awards ceremony

Issue December 2004

Massachusetts Citizens Against the Death Penalty, the nation's oldest anti-death penalty organization and a member of the Anti-Death Penalty Coalition of Massachusetts, of which the Massachusetts Bar Association is a part, invites you to attend the 2004 Herbert and Sara Ehrmann Award Ceremony in memory of the wrongful execution of Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti.

The ceremony will take place on Monday, Dec. 6 at the Old South Meeting House, 310 Washington St., Boston. It will begin at 6 p.m. with a cocktail reception, followed by the presentation of the Herbert and Sara Ehrmann Award to Joshua Rubenstein, the Northeast Regional Director of Amnesty International. The Hugo A. Bedau Award for significant contribution to the field of death penalty scholarship will be presented to Richard Moran, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology, Mount Holyoke College and author of The Executioner's Current, a history of the development of the electric chair.

Robert Meeropol, son of Julius and Ethel Rosenberg, will give the keynote speech.