MBA general counsel and past presidents named to Lawyers Weekly’s “Power List”

Issue February 2010

Massachusetts Bar Association General Counsel and Acting Executive Director Martin W. Healy and three past presidents were named to "The Power List" published in the Dec. 28 issue of Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly. The MBA past presidents include Leo V. Boyle (1990-91), Wayne A. Budd (1979-80) and Michael E. Mone (1993-94).

General counsel of the largest statewide bar association for more than 20 years, Healy is one of 81 on the roster of the state's most influential attorneys. He was named "the person to see" about getting lawyer-friendly legislation passed on Beacon Hill.

"Marty Healy was an easy choice for our Power List," said David L. Yas, publisher of Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly. "With his professional, likable style, Marty has built a countless number of relationships on Beacon Hill in advocating for attorneys. In lawyer circles, he's the one guy to go to when you want the law changed. That spells respect, and it spells power."

In addition, Lawyers Weekly highlighted key accolades of Boyle, Budd and Mone:

  • Leo V. Boyle, Meehan, Boyle, Black & Bogdanow, Boston - Renowned for his Association of Trial Lawyers of America bar leadership after 9/11; runs highly respected plaintiffs' firm in Boston and recently won settlement for victims of the Big Dig collapse.
  • Wayne A. Budd, Goodwin Procter, Boston - Former U.S. attorney is known to rub shoulders with Barack Obama; decision-maker at state's largest law firm.
  • Michael E. Mone Sr., Esdaile Barrett - Long a key legal insider, was recently tapped to lead search committees for U.S. attorney and U.S. marshal; represents lawyers and judges in disciplinary matters, including former Judge Ernest Murphy.

Lawyers Weekly consulted with attorneys, judges, political figures and others to create a list of the state's most powerful practitioners. Among the noted attorneys are Gov. Deval L. Patrick, U.S. Reps. William D. Delahunt and Barney Frank, Attorney General Martha Coakley, Secretary of State William F. Galvin and Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Margaret H. Marshall.